Privacy Policy

General

This Privacy Statement applies to Pearson Canada Assessment, Inc. (referred to as "Pearson", "we", "us" or "our" in this Privacy Statement) in the course of our business in Canada. This Privacy Statement is designed to inform individuals with whom we may interact in the course of our business in Canada, including individuals who purchase our products or services, (referred to as "you" or "your" in this Privacy Statement) about our practices regarding collection, use and disclosure of your personal information, including information you provide over the telephone, by mail, email or facsimile and via our commercial Web Site(s). This Privacy Statement applies to the Web Sites that Pearson maintains which post or include a link to this Privacy Statement (the "Web Sites"). This Privacy Statement does not apply to personal information about our employees or information that is not personal information.

What personal information will Pearson collect?

Pearson collects personal information from you that you provide to us voluntarily. Such personal information may include: personal contact information, such as name, professional qualifications, e-mail address, street address, and telephone number; your personally identifiable comments and questions about our products and services; and information required to order our products and services (including credit card information).

Pearson accepts credit card payments through our e-commerce portal and call center. Credit card information is not accepted via postal/mail, facsimile, or email.

Qualification is required when purchasing products via our website. Our qualification form and requirements can be found at https://www.pearsonclinical.ca/en/ordering/qualifications-for-test-purchase.html. The information includes the prospective purchaser’s educational and training background, association membership, employment, and contact information, all of which is required for determining the appropriate customer qualification level for purchase of our assessments. Qualification information is provided through a secure site, which means that the information you provide is encrypted during the transmission to our database.

Information collected through our website is analyzed with the purpose of better understanding our customers' needs and targeting our marketing strategies to satisfy those needs. Through the use of "cookies", we are able to measure site traffic, including the number of repeat versus new visitors, the time users spend online, and their navigation behavior. Collecting this information allows us to make changes that improve the overall functionality of the site.

In some cases, we may collect information about you that is not personal information. Examples of this type of information include the type of Internet Browser you are using, the type of computer operating system you are using and the domain name of the web site from which you linked to our Web Sites. If that material is not linked to other information that is "personal information" about you, the non–personal information is not subject to this Privacy Policy.

If we obtain personal information from third parties, for example to send promotional mailings, we seek assurances that the provider has received consent to provide that information to us.

In addition, please remember that any personal information that is voluntarily posted to any public area of the Web Sites – such as a chat room – may always be accessible to other visitors and that there is nothing Pearson can do to prevent collection, use or disclosure of this information by those visitors.

How will Pearson use and disclose the personal information we collect?

We use and disclose this personal information for the following purposes:

(a) to fulfill your orders, to process payments (including by credit card on the phone or by ordering online) and to collect amounts you owe;

(b) to respond to your requests for information and service and to communicate with you;

(c) to carry out internal financial processes including to credit our sales representatives;

(d) for internal research to better understand your needs and ways in which we can improve our products, services and Web Sites;

(e) to manage and administer our business;

(f) to send product information and special offers, including sample products , that we think may be of interest to you; in support of joint marketing and promotion activities with related entities, and to permit those related entities to send information or offers regarding their products and services to you, in each case if you have provided your consent to receiving such materials; and

(g) to enforce our Terms of Use and Terms of Sale and other agreements and for fraud protection and credit risk reduction.

We may also use or disclose your personal information for other purposes with your consent or as permitted or required by law.

We sometimes transfer personal information to others, including to affiliated entities or unrelated companies ("service providers"), that carry out certain functions on our behalf such as order fulfillment, accounts receivable and data processing. In those cases we require those service providers not to use or disclose your personal information for any purpose other than as directed by Pearson. Some of these service providers may be located outside of Canada, including in the United States, the United Kingdom and India, and your personal information may be collected, used, disclosed, stored and processed in those jurisdictions for the purposes described in this Privacy Statement. We take reasonable contractual or other measures to protect your personal information while processed or handled by these service providers. If your personal information is located outside Canada it will be subject to legal requirements in those foreign countries applicable to our service providers, for example, lawful requirements to disclose personal information to government authorities in those countries.

Your personal information may be used by Pearson and shared with others connected with the contemplated or actual financing, insuring, sale, assignment or other disposal of all or part of Pearson’s business or assets, including for the purposes of permitting such parties to determine whether to proceed with such transaction or business relationship, or to fulfill any disclosure obligations we have to such parties. If we do sell or assign all or part of our business, the purchaser or assignee will be able to use and disclose personal information to the same extent, under the same conditions and for substantially the same purposes as Pearson, as described in this Privacy Statement.

Your consent

Your consent to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information may be given in various ways. Consent can be express (express consent may be oral, in writing or electronic), implied (such as when you provide your name and address in order for us to send you products you have ordered or information you have requested) and in some jurisdictions may be given by your authorized representative (such as a legal guardian or a person having a power of attorney). Generally, if you provide us with your personal information, we will assume that you consent to our collection, use and disclosure of such information as described in this Privacy Statement, if applicable, or otherwise at the time of collection.

Collection, Use or Disclosure Without Your Consent

In certain limited circumstances our collection, use or disclosure of your personal information without consent is permitted or required by law, for example, to collect a debt you owe to us or to comply with a subpoena or court order.

What if I do not want my personal information collected, used or disclosed?

If you do not want your personal information collected, used or disclosed by us, please do one of the following: 1) follow the procedures, where available, indicated at the point of collection such as to "opt out" from the particular purposes of use and disclosure, or 2) if no "opt out" is available, do not submit personal information to us if you do not want us to collect, use or disclose it. If you have submitted personal information and later wish to withdraw your consent to its retention, use or disclosure, please contact us as indicated below. You may withdraw your consent, subject to legal or contractual restrictions and reasonable notice.

Please understand that without your consent, we may not be able to provide certain goods or services to you. For example, if you do not provide consent to collect and use personal information necessary to process an order that you wish to place, or if you withdraw your consent to uses that are necessary to fulfill your request, we may not be able to process your order or to supply those products to you. We will endeavor to advise you if this should happen.

Security

We will protect your personal information using physical, electronic or managerial procedures designed to protect the integrity, security and appropriate use of your personal information and to prevent theft, loss, unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification. Authorized employees, agents and mandataries of Pearson who require the personal information to fulfill the purpose for which the information was collected will be permitted to access personal information. We will retain your personal information as is required for these purposes, subject to reasonable legal limitation periods and statutory or regulatory retention requirements and our document retention policies.

Although we have enacted security measures for our Web Sites, we cannot guarantee the absolute security of our Web Sites or the security of information that you submit (or that we send to you) over the Internet, since no Internet transmission is ever 100% secure or error–free. Your use of the Internet and electronic mail is at your own risk. You should take special care in deciding what information you send to us via e–mail or posting on the Pearson Web Sites.

Our Links to Other Web Sites

The Pearson Web Sites may contain links or references to other web sites to which this Privacy Statement does not apply. Pearson is not responsible for the data collection and use practices of companies or organizations to which the Pearson Web Sites may provide links. We encourage you to read the Privacy Policy of every web site you visit.

Cookies

Our Web Sites use cookies. "Cookies" are small files containing information that a web site creates when someone visits the site. Generally your browser can be set to reject cookies or to notify you when receiving a cookie. Some features of our Web Sites may not be available if your browser is not set to accept cookies. Continuing to use this website gives your consent to use cookies during your use of the website. For more information, see our cookie policy at https://www.pearsonclinical.ca/en/legal/cookie-policy.html

When you browse our Web Sites, we use cookies for accessibility and personalization. For example, these cookies allow our Web Sites to remember choices you make (such as your language preference or the region you are in) in order to provide enhanced, more personal features. These cookies also remember changes you have made to text size, fonts and other customizable parts of our Web Sites.

When you register on a Web Site or purchase products, Pearson may also use cookies to facilitate your registration profile or purchase.

We do not use cookies to track your browsing activity on other websites.

How to Contact Us – Access to Information

Pearson may establish and maintain a file of your personal information at our offices for the purposes described in this Privacy Statement. To request access to, or correction of, your personal information, please write to:

Pearson’s Privacy Compliance Officer at Pearson Canada Assessment, Inc.
26 Prince Andrew Place
Toronto, Ontario M3C 2H4

In some circumstances Pearson may not be able to provide access to your information or to all of it. For example, Pearson will not provide access to information if doing so would reveal personal information about a third party, would reveal confidential commercial information, or if it is protected by solicitor–client privilege or was generated in the course of a formal dispute resolution process. If you have any questions, or if you wish to make inquiries, express concerns or make a complaint about our personal information practices, you may:

Updates to this Privacy Statement

We reserve the right to make changes to this Privacy Statement. If this Privacy Statement materially changes, we will take reasonable measures to notify you of these changes, including posting a copy of the revised Privacy Statement on our Web Sites. Your continued provision of personal information following notification of any material change and/or your continued access to the Web Sites following the posting of any changes to this Privacy Statement shall constitute your acceptance of those changes. This Privacy Statement is effective on February 7, 2016.

Language

For a French for Canada version of this Privacy Statement, please click here or write to the Privacy Compliance Officer at the address set out above.

Pour une version française de cette politique, veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant ou écrire à notre Responsable de la protection de la vie privée ("Privacy Compliance Officer") à l’adresse mentionnée ci–dessus.

Déclaration sur la confidentialité

Généralités

Cet énoncé en matière de confidentialité s’applique à Pearson Canada Assessment, Inc. (désignée en tant que « Pearson », « nous » ou « notre » dans cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité) dans le cours de nos activités au Canada. Cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité est conçue pour informer les personnes avec qui nous pouvons interagir dans le cadre de nos activités au Canada, dont des personnes qui achètent nos produits ou services (désignées en tant que « vous » ou « votre » dans cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité) sur nos pratiques de collecte, d’utilisation et de divulgation de vos renseignements personnels, dont l’information que vous fournissez au téléphone, par courrier, par courriel ou par télécopieur et dans notre ou nos site(s) Web commercial(aux). Cette Déclaration de confidentialité s’applique aux sites Web que gère Pearson et qui affichent ou englobent un lien vers cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité (les « sites Web »). Cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité ne s’applique pas aux renseignements personnels au sujet de nos employés ni aux renseignements qui ne sont pas personnels.

Quels renseignements personnels Pearson recueille-t-elle?

Pearson recueille des renseignements personnels que vous nous fournissez volontairement. Ils peuvent comprendre des coordonnées personnelles, dont le nom, des compétences professionnelles, l’adresse courriel, l’adresse municipale et le numéro de téléphone, vos commentaires et questions au sujet de nos produits et services où vous êtes identifiable et l’information requise pour commander nos produits et services (dont des renseignements sur la carte de crédit).

Pearson accepte dorénavant les paiements par carte de crédit ​uniquement ​via notre boutique en ligne et par téléphone. Les informations relatives à la carte de crédit ne sont plus acceptées par courrier postal, télécopieur ou courriel.

Pearson accepte dorénavant les paiements par carte de crédit ​uniquement ​via notre boutique en ligne et par téléphone. Les informations relatives à la carte de crédit ne sont plus acceptées par courrier postal, télécopieur ou courriel.

Des renseignements sur les compétences sont requis au moment d’acheter des produits dans notre site Web. Notre formulaire et nos exigences entourant les compétences se trouvent dans la section Qualification liées à l'achat des tests. Les renseignements comprennent les études et la formation de l’acheteur potentiel, son adhésion à une association professionnelle, son emploi et ses coordonnées, qui sont tous requis pour déterminer le niveau de compétence requis du client pour acheter nos évaluations. Les renseignements sur la compétence sont transmis au moyen d’un site sécurisé, ce qui veut dire que l’information que vous fournissez est chiffrée pendant la transmission vers notre base de données.

L’information recueillie dans notre site Web est analysée dans le but de mieux comprendre les besoins de nos clients et de cibler nos stratégies de marketing pour les combler. Au moyen de témoins, nous pouvons évaluer l’achalandage sur le site, dont le nombre de visiteurs nouveaux et récurrents, le temps que passent les utilisateurs en ligne et leurs comportements de navigation. Recueillir ces renseignements nous permet d’apporter des changements qui améliorent le fonctionnement général du site.

Dans certains cas, nous pouvons recueillir de l’information à votre sujet qui n’est pas des renseignements personnels. Le type de fureteur Web que vous utilisez, le type de système d’exploitation que vous utilisez et le nom de domaine du site Web d’où vous avez suivi un lien vers nos Sites Web sont des exemples de ce type d’information. Si ce matériel n’est pas lié à d’autres renseignements qui sont des renseignements personnels à votre sujet, les renseignements non personnels ne sont pas visés par cette Politique de confidentialité.

Si nous obtenons des renseignements personnels de tiers, par exemple, pour envoyer des messages promotionnels, nous demandons à l’expéditeur de s’assurer d’avoir reçu le consentement pour nous donner l’information.

De plus, veuillez garder en tête que tout renseignement personnel volontairement affiché dans une zone publique des sites Web, comme un forum de discussion, peut déjà être accessible par d’autres visiteurs et que Pearson ne peut rien faire pour empêcher la collecte, l’utilisation ou la divulgation de ces renseignements par ces visiteurs.

Comment Pearson utilisera et divulguera-t-elle les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons?

Nous utilisons et divulguons ces renseignements personnels aux fins suivantes :

  1. pour remplir vos commandes, pour traiter des paiements (dont par carte de crédit) et pour percevoir les montants que vous devez;
  2. pour répondre à vos demandes d’information et de service et communiquer avec vous;
  3. pour mener des processus financiers internes, dont le crédit de nos représentants des ventes;
  4. à des fins de recherche interne pour mieux comprendre vos besoins et les façons dont nous pouvons améliorer nos produits, services et sites Web;
  5. pour gérer et administrer nos affaires;
  6. pour envoyer de l’information sur des produits et des offres spéciales, dont des échantillons, que nous estimons susceptibles de vous intéresser, pour des activités de marketing et de promotion mixtes avec des entités apparentées et pour permettre à ces entités de vous envoyer de l’information ou des offres sur leurs produits et services, dans chaque cas si vous avez consenti à les recevoir; et
  7. pour exécuter nos Conditions d’utilisation et nos Conditions de vente et d’autres ententes et pour la protection contre la fraude et la réduction du risque de crédit.

Nous pourrions également utiliser ou divulguer vos renseignements personnels à d’autres fins avec votre consentement ou si la loi l’autorise ou l’exige.

Nous transférons parfois des renseignements personnels à d’autres, dont à des entités affiliées ou à des sociétés non apparentées (des « fournisseurs de services ») qui effectuent certaines fonctions en notre nom, comme le traitement des commandes, des comptes clients et des données. Dans ces situations, nous demandons à ces fournisseurs de services de ne pas utiliser ou divulguer vos renseignements personnels à toutes fins autres que celles indiquées par Pearson. Certains de ces fournisseurs de services pourraient être situés à l’extérieur du Canada, dont aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni et en Inde, et vos renseignements personnels pourraient être recueillis, utilisés, divulgués, conservés et traités dans ces pays aux fins décrites dans cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité. Nous prenons des mesures contractuelles ou autres mesures raisonnables pour protéger vos renseignements personnels pendant que ces fournisseurs de services les traitent ou les utilisent. Si vos renseignements personnels sont situés à l’extérieur du Canada, ils seront visés par les exigences législatives dans ces pays étrangers qui s’appliquent à nos fournisseurs de services, par exemple, des exigences juridiques de divulgation de renseignements personnels à des autorités du gouvernement dans ces pays.

Pearson pourrait utiliser vos renseignements personnels et les diffuser à d’autres relativement au financement, à l’assurance, à la vente, à la cession ou à une autre aliénation envisagés ou réels de la totalité ou d’une partie des entreprises ou des actifs de Pearson, dont pour permettre à ces parties de déterminer s’il faut aller de l’avant avec cette transaction ou cette relation d’affaires ou remplir des obligations de divulgation que nous avons avec ces parties. Si nous venons ou attribuons la totalité ou une partie de nos affaires, l’acheteur ou le cessionnaire pourra utiliser et divulguer des renseignements personnels dans la même mesure, sous les mêmes conditions et pour essentiellement les mêmes raisons que Pearson comme le décrit cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité.

Votre consentement

Votre consentement pour la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels pourrait être accordé de différentes façons. Le consentement peut être exprès (le consentement exprès peut être verbal, écrit ou électronique), tacite (comme lorsque vous fournissez votre nom et adresse pour que nous vous envoyions des produits que vous avez commandés ou des renseignements que vous avez demandés) et, dans certaines administrations, être donné par votre représentant autorisé (comme un tuteur légal ou une personne qui a un mandat). En général, si vous nous donnez vos renseignements personnels, nous supposons que vous consentez à notre collecte, utilisation et divulgation de ces renseignements comme le décrit cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité, le cas échéant, ou autrement au moment de la collecte.

Collecte, utilisation ou divulgation sans votre consentement

Dans certaines circonstances, notre collecte, utilisation ou divulgation de vos renseignements personnels sans votre consentement sont autorisées ou requises par la loi, par exemple, pour recouvrer une dette que vous nous devez ou pour respecter une assignation ou une ordonnance du tribunal.

Qu’arrive-t-il si je ne souhaite pas que mes renseignements personnels soient recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués?

Si vous ne voulez pas que nous recueillions, utilisions ou divulguions vos renseignements personnels, faites l’une des deux choses suivantes : 1) suivez les procédures, le cas échéant, indiquées au moment de la collecte, comme celles de vous retirer de l’utilisation et de la divulgation en particulier ou 2) s’il n’est pas possible de se retirer, abstenez-vous de nous envoyer des renseignements personnels si vous ne voulez pas que nous les recueillions, les utilisions ou les divulguions. Si vous nous avez envoyé des renseignements personnels et décidez plus tard de retirer votre consentement quant à leur collecte, utilisation ou divulgation, veuillez communiquer avec nous en suivant les indications ci-dessous. Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement sous réserve des restrictions juridiques ou contractuelles et d’un avis raisonnable.

Prière de garder à l’esprit que sans votre consentement, il se peut que nous ne puissions pas vous offrir certains produits ou services. Par exemple, si vous ne consentez pas à la collecte et à l’utilisation de renseignements personnels nécessaires au traitement d’une commande que vous voulez passer ou si vous retirez votre consentement à des utilisations qui sont nécessaires pour traiter votre demande, il se peut que nous ne soyons pas en mesure de traiter votre commande ni de vous fournir ces produits. Nous ferons l’effort de vous aviser si cela devait arriver.

Sécurité

Nous protègerons vos renseignements personnels au moyen de procédures physiques, électroniques ou de gestion conçues pour protéger l’intégrité, la sécurité et l’utilisation appropriée de vos renseignements personnels et éviter le vol, la perte, l’accès non autorisé, la divulgation, la copie, l’utilisation ou la modification des renseignements. Les employés autorisés, agents et mandataires de Pearson qui ont besoin des renseignements personnels pour les fins auxquelles les renseignements ont été recueillis seront autorisés y accéder. Nous conserverons vos renseignements personnels au besoin pour ces fins, compte tenu des périodes de limite juridiques raisonnables et des exigences de conservation législatives ou réglementaires et de nos politiques de conservation des documents.

Même si nous avons mis en place des mesures de sécurité pour nos sites Web, nous ne pouvons pas garantir la sécurité absolue de nos sites Web ni la sécurité de l’information que vous soumettez (ou que nous vous envoyons) par Internet, puisqu’aucune transmission sur Internet n’est toujours sécuritaire ou exempte d’erreur. Vous utilisez Internet et le courrier électronique à vos risques. Vous devez faire preuve de prudence lorsque vous décidez des renseignements à nous envoyer par courriel ou à afficher sur les sites Web de Pearson.

Nos liens vers d’autres sites Web

Les sites Web de Pearson peuvent contenir des liens ou des références à d’autres sites Web auxquels cette Déclaration de confidentialité ne s’applique pas. Pearson n’est pas responsable des pratiques de collecte et d’utilisation de données d’entreprises ou d’organisations auxquelles les sites Web de Pearson peuvent donner des liens. Nous vous encourageons à lire la politique de confidentialité de tous les sites Web que vous visitez.

Témoins

Nos sites Web utilisent des témoins. Ces témoins sont de petits fichiers qui contiennent de l’information qu’un site Web crée lorsque quelqu’un visite le site. En règle générale, vous pouvez configurer votre fureteur pour refuser les témoins ou vous aviser lorsque vous recevez un témoin. Certaines fonctions de nos sites Web ne seront peut-être pas utilisables si votre fureteur n’accepte pas les témoins. L’utilisation continue de ce site Web fait office de votre consentement à utiliser des témoins pendant que vous vous y trouvez. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez notre politique sur les témoins.

Lorsque vous consultez nos sites Web, nous utilisons des témoins pour faciliter l’accessibilité et la personnalisation. Par exemple, ces témoins permettent à nos sites Web de garder en mémoire les choix que vous faites (comme vos préférences en matière de langue ou de région) pour offrir des caractéristiques améliorées et plus personnelles. Ces témoins gardent également en mémoire les changements que vous avez faits à la taille de la police, à la police et aux autres parties personnalisables de nos sites Web.

Lorsque vous vous inscrivez sur un site Web ou achetez des produits, Pearson pourrait également utiliser des jetons pour faciliter l’enregistrement de votre profil ou vos achats.

Nous n’utilisons pas de jetons pour surveiller votre historique sur d’autres sites Web.

Comment communiquer avec nous – Accès à l’information

Pearson pourrait créer et tenir un fichier sur vos renseignements personnels dans nos bureaux pour les fins décrites dans cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité. Pour demander de consulter ou de corriger vos renseignements personnels, veuillez écrire au :

Responsable de la protection de la vie privée de Pearson à Pearson Canada Assessment, Inc.
26 Prince Andrew Place
Toronto, Ontario
M3C 2H4

Certaines circonstances pourraient faire en sorte que Pearson ne soit pas en mesure de vous fournir l’accès à une partie ou à la totalité de vos renseignements. Par exemple, Pearson ne donnera pas l’accès à l’information si cet accès devait révéler des renseignements personnels au sujet d’un tiers ou des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels, ou s’ils sont protégés par le privilège entre un avocat et son client ou s’ils ont été produits dans le cours d’un processus de règlement des différends officiel. Si vous avez des questions ou voulez faire une demande d’information, exprimer des inquiétudes ou faire une plainte au sujet de nos pratiques de gestion de renseignements personnels, vous pouvez :

  • écrire au Responsable de la protection de la vie privée à l’adresse ci-dessus
  • appeler le Responsable de la protection de la vie privée à notre numéro sans frais : 1 866–424–0344
  • nous écrire à l’adresse privacy.officer@pearsoncanada.com
  • nous envoyer une télécopie au 1 866–424–0544

Une lettre, une télécopie ou un courriel sont les moyens les plus fiables de signaler vos préoccupations ou intentions.

Mises à jour à cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité

Nous nous réservons le droit d’apporter des changements à cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité. Si cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité change considérablement, nous prendrons les mesures raisonnables pour vous aviser des changements, dont l’affichage d’une version révisée de notre Déclaration sur la confidentialité dans nos sites Web. Votre communication continue de renseignements personnels à la suite d’un avis de tout changement important ou votre accès continu aux sites Web à la suite de l’affichage de tout changement à cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité constituent votre acceptation de ces changements. Cette Déclaration sur la confidentialité entre en vigueur le 7 février 2016.

Langue

For a French for Canada version of this Privacy Statement, please click on the following link or write to the Privacy Compliance Officer at the address set out above.

Pour une version française de cette politique, veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant ou écrire à notre Responsable de la protection de la vie privée à l’adresse mentionnée ci–dessus.